Wyoming Landlord Tenant Laws
March 2, 2023
We’d love to connect with you.
|Required Disclosures |
Rent and Fees
Application Fees: Permitted
Rent Control: N/A
Late Fee Limit: N/A
Grace Period Minimum: N/A
Amount Limit: N/A
Return Within: 30 days; 60 days if there are damages
Permitted Times of Entry: N/A
|Fair Housing Protections |
Notice for Lease Violation: 3-day quit notice
Wyoming Landlord-Tenant Law
Understand Wyoming landlord tenant law before enforcing your own rental policies. Find more information in the Wyoming state law code.
Landlords in all 50 states must include information about lead-based paint hazards in the rental agreements for most properties built before 1978. Sellers and landlords must distribute an EPA-approved information pamphlet called “Protect Your Family from Lead in Your Home” and disclose any known lead hazards in the property. These obligations were established by Section 1018 of the Residential Lead-Based Paint Hazard Reduction Act of 1992.
If a landlord charges any nonrefundable fees or deposits, they must provide written notice of this fact in the Wyoming lease agreement.
Rent and Fees
- Rent Due Date: There is no statute in Wyoming specifying when rent should be due. However, it is typically due on the first of each month.
- Application Fees: Rental application fees are not regulated in Wyoming.
- Rent Increases: There is no statewide rent control in Wyoming.
- Late Fees: There is no statutory limit on late fees in Wyoming. Landlords may adopt any reasonable late rent policy.
- Grace Period: There is no mandatory grace period in Wyoming.
- NSF/Bounced Check Fee Maximum: If the tenant’s rent check bounces, the landlord may charge a fee of $30 (WS § 1-1-115(b)).
- Withholding Rent/Repair and Deduct: Wyoming law does not explicitly give tenants permission to withhold rent or repair and deduct. However, Wyoming does outline tenants’ remedies should the landlord fail to fulfill their duties as per the law or lease agreement. The tenant must first serve a written notice of noncompliance. If, after a reasonable time, the landlord has not corrected the condition, the tenant may serve a “notice to repair or correct condition” by certified mail. This notice should recite the previous notice, state the number of days elapsed, state the conditions requiring correction, demand the remedy, and state that if reasonable corrective action is not taken within three days, the tenant will commence a civil action in circuit court. If the tenant wins, the court may award the tenant damages, including rent collected improperly (WS § 1-21-1206).
- Deposit Limit: There is no limit on security deposit amounts in Wyoming.
- Interest: Landlords in Wyoming are not required to pay interest on security deposits (WS § 1-21-1208(a)).
- Return Within: 30 days. If there is damage to the rental unit, the return period is extended to 60 days (WS § 1-21-1208(a)). Additionally, if there is a separate utilities deposit, these funds must be returned within 10 days of confirming that the tenant paid all utility charges (WS § 1-21-1208(b)).
- Deposit Location: Landlords are not required to keep security deposits in a separate bank account.
- Withholding: Landlords may withhold funds from the security deposit for unpaid rent, damages to the unit beyond reasonable wear and tear, cleaning costs, and any other costs provided in the rental agreement. Landlords must itemize these deductions in a written notice and deliver it to the tenant, along with the balance and remainder of the security deposit (WS § 1-21-1208(a)).
Tenant Screening and Fair Housing Protections
- Federal law prohibits discrimination in housing based on race, color, religion, gender, national origin, familial status, and disability (Title 24 USC § 3601-3607). Wyoming state law reaffirms these protections and clarifies that pregnancy is included in familial status (WS § 40-26-102, 40-26-103)
- Wyoming landlords are subject to the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) (15 USC § 1681), which outlines the responsibilities of landlords to protect tenant credit information. According to the Act, landlords may not share tenant credit information with anyone without a legal reason to view it. They must also investigate disputed information, dispose of credit reports after use in tenant screening, and notify applicants when their credit score or history was the reason for their denial.
- Criminal background checks may be used during tenant screening in Wyoming. Wyoming state law specifically allows landlords to discriminate against an individual due to a federal or state conviction for the illegal manufacture or distribution of controlled substances (WS § 40-26-103(c)).
- Wyoming landlords should follow HUD recommendations for using criminal background checks fairly. This includes avoiding blanket policies for denying applicants with criminal convictions, assessing applicants and their criminal histories on a case-by-case basis, and only denying an applicant when they demonstrate a risk to the safety of other residents or the property.
- Advanced Notice: There is no state law in Wyoming requiring landlords to give advance notice before entering a property.
- Permitted Times: Wyoming state law does not designate any time-of-day restrictions for entering.
- Emergency Entry: There are no laws in Wyoming regarding emergency entry without notice.
- Notice for Lease Violation: 3 days to quit. According to Wyoming laws on eviction, this notice covers any possible reason for eviction, including nonpayment of rent, property damage, refusal of access, illegal activity, or any other lease violation. Landlords are not required to give the tenant an opportunity to correct the breach (WS § 1-21-1002, 1-21-1003).
Other Laws and Facts About Wyoming
- The median rent rate in Wyoming is $853.
- The median rent rate in Cheyenne is $1,400.
- Wyoming is the least populous US state.